Houston Grilled Steak Fajitas

I’m back! We had an incredible time in Montreal – mainly revolving around it’s incredible food and beer scene! It’s a very good thing walking was our main way of getting around the city so I can at least pretend that I countered some of the indulgence with exercise.

It’s back to the grind today and these sunny skies have me thinking about grilling, and grilling has me thinking about STEAK! Now, I live in an apartment so I don’t have access to a BBQ, but I do have a grill pan that comes through when the need for a nice grilled steak kicks in!

I wanted to make my steak on theme with my road trip, so I decided to head south to Houston Texas for a classic Tex-Mex dish – the fajita! Tasty seasoned grilled steak served with sauteed peppers and onions, all wrapped up in one of my perfect, homemade tortillas. What could be better?

When I make fajitas, I tend to go simple. I used sirloin steak because it’s what I had on hand. I used this recipe for homemade taco seasoning to season my meat with. I rub the steak with a bit of olive oil first, then the spice rub. I let it sit while I prep the peppers and onions. I use one red, and one green pepper and one medium to large sized yellow onion. I sautee the peppers and onions in a skillet with some olive oil and a bit of the spice rub, until the onions are soft and golden and the peppers are tender-crisp.

20170111_175921

I heat my grill pan over medium-high heat. Depending on the thickness of the steak, I cook it for about 5 minutes per side. I like mine to be pretty pink inside so I try not to over do it.

I let the steak rest for a few minutes to let those juices lock in, then I slice it into thin strips.

fajitas

I serve my fajitas with lime wedges, salsa, sour cream, and sometimes a bit of shredded cheddar. These are so simple to make and always turn out delicious. It’s usually a big enough batch that there’s leftovers the next day, which I also love!

Join me next time as we continue exploring all of the great food North America has to offer!

Thanks for stopping by.

Happy Eating!

Leave a Reply

