Chicago Deep Dish Pizza

Pizza can be a bit of a hot topic depending on where you’re from. Even in Chicago – though practically synonymous with deep dish – the thin crust versus deep dish debate is alive and well.

However, for the purposes of this road trip, I pretty much HAD to make Chicago deep dish. For one, it’s so iconic that it would be a disservice to leave it out, and for another, I really wanted the challenge of pulling it off, as it’s something I’ve never attempted to make at home.

I very quickly learned that the depth of the pie was not the only important part of this pizza, but the dough itself was very unique. I used the recipe from Sally’s Baking Addiction as it seemed to really focus on the dough and how different it was.

The keys, as Sally points out, are the cornmeal that goes right into the dough, and the layers of butter you work into it. It give the overall pizza crust a very flaky and biscuit-like quality that I haven’t seen in a pizza recipe before!

This is another recipe that took a bit of time, but only because I had to wait about 2 hours for the dough to proof. Otherwise it came together quite quickly.

For toppings, I used Italian sausage that I browned before adding it to the pizza.

The assembly of a deep dish pizza is interesting. You roll out your dough and fit it into a 9″ cake pan – along the bottom and up the sides. You place your cheese at the bottom, then the toppings, and then you add the sauce on top. I added some parmesan cheese on top as well.

chicago deep dish

 

Chicago deep dish

You place the cake pan on a baking sheet, in case anything overflows. You bake it at 425 degrees for 20-28 minutes. If you’re worried about the crust getting too brown, you can loosely cover the pizzas with aluminum foil after the first 15 minutes.

The pizza came out of the oven and looked incredible. The crust was a beautiful golden colour and the smell was amazing! Sally recommends letting the pizza cool in the pans on a wire rack for 10 minutes before slicing. I would recommend that as well, as I think I cut into mine a bit too early (I was over-eager!) and made a bit of a mess (mess not pictured).

IMG_7363

This pizza was amazing. Super cheesy, with that amazing biscuit crust! This is the one time, and the one time ONLY that I will advocate for eating pizza with a knife and fork.

This one is definitely worth trying if you’d like to have a bit of the Chicago experience right at home!

Thanks for joining me, and I’ll see you next time!

Happy Eating!

Leave a Reply

