Los Angeles Huevos Rancheros

We’re heading back down south today into California. I really wanted to focus on the Mexican influence on California’s food scene, so I went with a breakfast classic – huevos rancheros.

We magically had leftovers from last night’s Kansas City Pulled Pork, and wanted to find a way to re-purpose it. Adding to the huevos rancheros seemed like a great way to do that! We went with a pretty basic take on the rancheros themselves – I heated up a mixture of jarred, medium salsa with a smoky chipotle salsa, and cooked up a couple of over-easy eggs. To take this dish to the next level, I decided to make the flour tortillas from scratch.

I used this recipe from The Cafe Sucre Farine.

Oh. My. God. These were incredible. They came together fairly quickly, and even though rolling out and cooking each one took a bit of time, the result was so worth it that I may never buy tortillas from the store again. They were soft and delicious and created the perfect base for the salsa, pulled pork and eggs.

To assemble the huevos rancheros, I spread a spoonful of the warmed salsa on a plate. I then shingled two of the tortillas on top of that. I then added the pulled pork, one over-easy egg, and topped it with more of the warm salsa. I put a dollop of guacamole on the side.

huevos rancheros

These were incredibly tasty, and after making the tortillas, took almost no time to make. I would definitely whip these up in the future. They’re great too because of how they can be customized any way you like. You can add re-fried black beans or avocado slices and really play around with different toppings.

All in all, a great way to start the day!

Thanks for joining us on this stop on our culinary road trip.

Happy eating!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

